Clam Dissection


The phylum Mollusca includes snails, clams, chitons, slugs, limpets, octopi, and squid. As mollusks develop from a fertilized egg to an adult, most pass through a larval stage called the trocophore. The trocophore is a ciliated, free-swimming stage (see diagram below). Mollusks also have a radula or file-like organ for feeding, a mantle that may secrete a shell, and a muscular foot for locomotion. Clams are marine mollusks with two valves or shells. Like all mollusks, a clam has a mantle which surrounds its soft body. It also has a muscular foot which enables the clam to burrow itself in mud or sand. The soft tissue above the foot is called the visceral mass and contains the clam's body organs.

Mollusk Trocophores


Kingdom - Animalia
Phylum - Mollusca
Class - Bivalvia

To study the internal and external anatomy of a bivalve mollusk.


Figure 1


Figure 2

Figure 3